Eats, Events
Comments 4

French food and truffles

I had a lovely foodie day yesterday celebrating Bastille Day.  I adore French cuisine (who doesn’t) and it is a dream of mine to one day eat French food in France.

Yesterday, some of us at work dressed up in French inspired garb and we had an incredible feast for morning tea.

Morning tea is a big deal at my work. Because we have a lot of early starters, not everyone is around for afternoon tea so morning is the only time we can get everyone together.

Our French inspired morning tea consisted of:

  • Baguette
  • Croissants
  • Pain au chocolat
  • Chicken and cranberry pâté
  • Mushroom and brandy pâté
  • Cheese
  • Cream cheese
  • Ham
  • Cake
  • Pickles

It was so delicious and a lot of fun assembling your own bite sized morsels of goodness. I forgot how much I love pâté.

We ate as much as we could and there was plenty left over. If only the French had siesta I could crawl under my desk and have a nap.

Sabato Field Trip

A couple of hours later, I gathered F and W, a couple of lovely ladies from work and we visited Sabato during lunch to extend our French foodie day.

Sabato is a gourmet food store and just around the corner from work. Every now and then I like visiting during my lunch break, browsing, sipping on a complimentary coffee and tasting the delicious things they have out. It’s makes an otherwise normal work day a whole lot more delicious.

The apple tartin cooking demonstration was what drew us in and when we arrived, it was the pear tartin and a vegetable and goat cheese tartin that we got to sample.

Truffles and more truffles

We tried a few french cheeses from their Bastille Day display and W bought a cheese that had a ribbon of truffle right through it.

I spied a 100g jar of Giuliano Tartufi Truffle Salt for just $9.90 (usually $28.60). I would be hesitant to buy it at full price but I love a foodie bargain.

We didn’t plan on just buying truffles, it just happened that way. It’s truffle season here too. Not that it matters really since the truffles we bought are imported.

My truffle salt has the expiry date of October this year, so I’m looking forward to giving this jar a good run in the next few months.

I’ve done a little investigation and I’m keen on trying truffle oil with:

  1. Scrambled eggs
  2. French fries and potato chips
  3. Risotto
  4. Mashed potatoes or parsnip
  5. Creamy mushroom pasta
  6. Popcorn
  7. Buttered sweetcorn on the cob (alas, sweetcorn is out of season)
  8. Raw salmon

W suggested that I try making pâté and I imagine that truffle salt could work quite well with it too. But maybe I’ll try making pâté first before I start with the variations.

If you have any other ideas on how to use up this truffle salt by October, I’m all ears.

Giuliano Tartufi Truffle Salt is available here at Sabato’s website http://www.sabato.co.nz.

This entry was posted in: Eats, Events

by

I am Genie, a graphic designer/photographer obsessed with food and bunnies. I live in Whanganui, New Zealand with my husband, The Koala and our two rabbits, Kobe and Bento. I write about my hedonistic ways and I love the mantra "Eat well, travel often". I prefer not to write about myself in third person. www.bunnyeatsdesign.com

4 Comments

  1. Aimee says

    Sounds delicious! Morning tea or Friday drinks is such a great way to boost staff morale. Maybe you could go over to France and I could meet you there in the not too distant future … xx

  2. Wow morning tea sounds awesome alright! glad to hear your workplace got into the spirit of Bastille Day!
    We only had profiteroles by accident yesterday when someone mixed up a batch and then were like ohh yeah its Bastille Day!
    But i just have to tell you that you have inspired me to purchase the truflle salt from sabato while on sale because like you I love a bargin and would not pay the actual retail price for a jar of salt and now on a mission too to discover new tastes and dishes with my truffle salt.
    Looking forward to hearing how your quest goes with your truffle salt!!

  3. Bunny Eats Design says

    Gene, I love the sound of accidental profiteroles. Now that is a happy accident.

    I would love to meet and eat up with you in France Miss Aimee!

    First thing I used the truffle salt in were burger patties last night. Flavour was a bit hidden, I didn’t use enough salt. Must be less shy with the truffle salt!

  4. That was a bargain salt! Well done! The French community was celebrating tonight at the Community centre in Freemans Bay and we could smell the roasting garlic from upstairs (we Italians have our rooms there), yummy!!!

    Ciao
    Alessandra

I love your comments! Your comments are like extra melted cheese on top.